The eVGA 790i SLI is a pile of junk.

I’ve been fighting for about 9 months now with eVGA’s entry into the enthusiast motherboard ring. They say enthusiast, but I’m pretty sure whomever was doing the marketing got the word mixed up with masochist. The board has been unstable since the day I unpacked it. This is at stock setting, I should add. Forget about overclocking on this board marketed to overclockers. With the latest update, promising stability, I am now unable to even get into BIOS. I have reset BIOS onboard and still can’t even get into the most basic of controls for my system. The message board for eVGA provides no insight whatsoever as they delete instantly any disonnence posted. From the board you’d think that eVGA could do no wrong and everything they shit out was made of solid gold. Don’t get me wrong. They are great with graphics cards. Outstanding actually. But their motherboard division (probably a company they bought in Taiwan during the chip war bargain days) is a sad reflection of their graphics touchstone.

This battle hasn’t come from a lack of technical knowledge. I’m very good with hardware and, in cases where I’m in doubt, I’m very good at tracking down the people who BUILT the hardware. This has been the case for my recent forray into bullshittery brought about by this waste of circuit board. I have been in direct contact with OCZ, my memory manufacturer multiple times. Memory that they sell ends up in some of the highest end machines. It’s quality stuff and they’ve even RMAd me new sticks to try. But the 790i refuses to play nice. At this point, I would be happy to forgoe performance for simple stability, but that seems to be out of their scope as well. The board just sucks in all ways a board can.

This entry was posted in Computers and Internet. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment